BOOK REVIEW #102 - OFF THE PAGE


BLURB:

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.
 
Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.
 
Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.


MY THOUGHTS:

Save me before I sell my soul to pull my favourite character out from the book. I don’t care what others say. I don’t care whether he doesn’t know how to adapt to the world. I’ll help him. I would be there.

With the heart’s desire, the Prince came to live in the real world whereas his lookalike Edgar went into the fairy tale which has been rewritten as some space video game. Both the worlds seem to be accepting the changes. But then, the book was awaken from its deep sleep and started to throw tantrums to have its people. One by one, the dreams that the Prince and Delilah had were shattered. Will they have a happily ever after?

Let’s have a list. It is easy to write.

1. Prince Oliver loved his life outside the book. He loves the unexpected things that are to be happened. The ecstasy of not knowing what happens next fascinates him. A toddler, he became to know everything. He was so enveloped in his little bubble with Delilah that he didn’t know how the people of his surroundings accustomed to the changes. It hurts him when he realized that. At least, he noticed it.

2. Delilah. A perfect fangirl, living every fangirl’s dreams. She helped him in so many ways. Teaching him everything about how the real world is. Getting flustered when he switched on his charm on everybody. She didn’t realize that she would not be the only one he will be with. She was afraid that she had become an over obsessive bitch. Of course, everyone was expected to be in this stage at least once. 

3. Dragon. Confectionaries. Fairies. Everything screams me. Riding on a dragon. How I want to do it!

4. It exactly explains how a writer/reader feels about a book. Whether writer is the one who brings character alive by writing or is it the reader brings the character alive. Never ending explanations. To be honest, word brings the character alive.

5. CONCLUSION: Consequences will be there for your every actions.


MY RATING: Acceptable

Comments